The Kincrome SXS Motorsport Australia Championship has been declared, with no more events to be held for the rest of 2021.

Three rounds have so far been held this season, but no more events will be able to run due to the ongoing border restrictions.

In light of this news, the Kincrome SXS Motorsport Australia Championship organisers agreed to declare current leaders Stephen Henry and co-driver Steve Walton champions for this year.

Although he was unable to win any rounds in 2021, Henry’s lead in the championship was well deserving as the Queenslander finished twice on the podium before claiming a top five during the third round in Kooralbyn.

Finishing the championship in second place just two points off was 2018 champion Simon Evans and co-driver Max O’Brien, while first year rookies Trevor Finck and Tyler Fitzgerald end the year in third.

Taking out the SXS Sport class was the first-year pairing of Eden Evans and Shannon Jennings, while Jake Williams and Kevin Williams finished second ahead of Tony Ross and Jason Chipp.

Championship founder Sam Beck was disappointed with the cancellation of the season but admitted there was no other choice available.

“It was a difficult decision to cancel the remainder of the season as it just was not viable for us to continue running,” Beck said.

“With Kalgoorlie and St Helens already cancelled and both the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships and RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship also pulling out of their scheduled October rounds at The Bend Motorsport Park, it made it difficult to see any of our remaining two rounds from happening from a logistical point of view.

“So instead of risking further cancellations and costs for our competitors and staff, we decided to make the call now, which I think is better for the long run.

“With that said, a big congratulations to Stephen and Steve for taking out the title – Stephen is a very deserving winner as he is someone who has always been around the top for a long time.

“We will now turn our focus onto 2022 as we have some big plans for the championship and its future. I thank all competitors for their patience and Kincrome and all our loyal partners for their continued support.”

Photos: Felicity Thompson